Hello is anyone there? And my DIY Christmas Countdown Calendar

*Taps mic*

Is this thing on? I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted, so if anyone is reading this, (besides my mom) thanks for sticking around. I’ve been lucky to write for a lot of websites lately, but I miss writing for myself, so my hope is to use this space more going forward to share silly stories and pieces of what’s going on in Megville.

15235908_10100111723736809_4171734196904252675_o

Which brings me to this Christmas countdown calendar. Here’s what happened. Usually we’re a “get one of those cardboard countdown calendars with the chocolate that tastes like plastic” from the grocery story family. But the boys came home from trick-or-treating with an impressive haul this year, and I knew that if I didn’t do something with all that chocolate immediately, I was going to eat it while everyone was away at school. It’s true. Some people have self-control, but I am not one of them.

Enter the idea of making my own Christmas countdown calendar using Halloween candy. Because while I can’t say no to a Snickers when it’s sitting in a drawer, I can stop myself from eating it if I know the kids are expecting it to be there on December 19.

Supplies:

24 small stockings

December countdown stickers (I found mine in the scrapbook section)

A festive foil garland

24 ornament hooks

1 piece of candy per child for each of the 24 days (so 48 for the twins)

Assemble to the sounds of *NSync’s Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and stand back and marvel at your skillz.

 

2 thoughts on “Hello is anyone there? And my DIY Christmas Countdown Calendar

Leave a Reply

